MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Quarter 4 Calendar

 

Date

Learning Objective

Class Activities/Resources

Assignment

Monday, 4/8/19 I can sketch unfamiliar functions and identify key features such as axes intercepts, local maxima points, local minima points, and end behavior

Students started a new unit.  The topic is Unfamiliar Functions.  A new assignment sheet was distributed.

19A (Day 1) Notes

19A (p. 545-546) #1, 2, 3a, 4ac 

Due Wednesday 

Tuesday, 4/9/19 I can sketch unfamiliar functions and identify key features such as axes intercepts, local maxima points, local minima points, and end behavior

19A (Day 2) Notes

19A (p. 545-546) #1, 2, 3a, 4ac 

Wednesday, 4/10/19

I can solve IB test questions on topics from the measurement unit, which includes number sets, unit conversions, and percentage error

substitute day

Students will work in groups on an exercise set of past IB problems that cover material from the Measurement Unit.This is a refresher of content from the junior year math course.

none

Thursday, 4/11/19

 

no school (snow day)

 

Friday, 4/12/19

 

Mr. Sturm handed out keys for students to check their answers on Wednesday's Measurement Unit Review exercise set

Most students were out on field trips, so the students in class had time to either complete the 19A assignment or play Jeopardy.  HW Self-Assessment will be submitted next Monday.

 

none

 

       
Monday, 4/15/19

I can use technology to sketch functions with fractions (aka... rational functions), and include in the sketches axes intercepts and the equations for each horizontal and vertical asymptote.

I can explain algebraically why a rational function has horizontal and vertical asymptotes were they do.

19B Notes

HW Self-Assessment #1 (Assignment #1)

19B (p. 549) #1, 2abcd 

Due Thursday

Tuesday, 4/16/19 review for IB exam

substitute day

Students will start working on a formula booklet scavenger hunt.  A IB Math Studies Formula Booklet is needed for this activity.

come to class tomorrow having completed #1-8 in the formula booklet scavenger hunt
Wednesday, 4/17/19 review for IB exam

substitute day

Students will finish working on the formula booklet scavenger hunt and turn the packet in by the end of class. A IB Math Studies Formula Booklet is needed for this activity.

none
Thursday, 4/18/19 I can use inductive reasoning to summarize the behavior of graphs of power functions.

19C Investigation Notes

19C Investigation WS

HW Self-Assessment #2 (Assignment #2)

The 19C Investigation WS should be completed during class time, so there is no assignment
Friday, 4/19/19  

no class (Race to Justice Day)

 
       
Monday, 4/22/19 I can find any vertical asymptotes, axes intercepts, and any turning points for a combined power function, and sketch a graph of the function with these features. 19C and 19D Notes

19C (p. 552) #1ace, 2

19D (p. 554) #4a, 5

Solutions

Tuesday, 4/23/19 I can use technology to solve an equation by finding intersections of the two functions that are set equal in the function. 19E Notes 19E (p. 555) #1, 2abc, 4
Wednesday, 4/24/19 review day Review Notes Review Set 19A (p. 555-556) #1-8
Thursday, 4/25/19 quiz day

Block Schedule for MCAs ... Periods 1, 2, 3, and 4 only

Chapter 19 Quiz (20 formative assessment points)

 
Friday, 4/26/19 quiz day

Block Schedule for MCAs ... Periods 1, 5, 6, and 7 only

Chapter 19 Quiz (20 formative assessment points)

 

 
       
Monday, 4/29/19 n/a

IB Testers were introduced to last year's Paper 1 and Paper 2

non-IB Testers were assigned a past IB problem which they will use to contribute to a IB Math Studies Graphing Calculator Users Guide (activity description and grading rubric)

none
Tuesday, 4/30/19 n/a

IB Testers were worked on about half of last spring's version of Paper 1.

non-IB Testers continued to assemble their contribution to the IB Math Studies Graphing Calculator Users Guide

none
Wednesday, 5/1/19 n/a

IB Testers were worked on about half of last spring's version of Paper 1.

non-IB Testers continued to assemble their contribution to the IB Math Studies Graphing Calculator Users Guide

none
Thursday, 5/2/19 n/a

IB Testers were worked on about half of last spring's version of Paper 2.

non-IB Testers completed assembling their contribution to the IB Math Studies Graphing Calculator Users Guide.

none
Friday, 5/3/19 n/a

IB Testers were mostly absent due to prom

non-IB Testers were mostly absent due to prom.  A couple of students who were present at class presented their section of the Graphing Calculator Users Guide.

none
       
Monday, 5/6/19 n/a

IB Testers were worked on about half of last spring's version of Paper 2.

non-IB Testers started presenting their solution method to the past IB exam problem that will be in the IB Math Studies Graphing Calculator Users Guide.

none
Tuesday, 5/7/19 n/a

IB Testers were worked on about half of last spring's version of Paper 2.

non-IB Testers started presenting their solution method to the past IB exam problem that will be in the IB Math Studies Graphing Calculator Users Guide. All non-IB testers must submit their report and have presented/submitted their video by the end of class.

none
Wednesday, 5/8/19 n/a

IB Testers scored Paper 2 with Mr. Sturm

non-IB Testers tried out some exercise sets on the topic of Quadratics using Khan Academy.

none
Thursday, 5/9/19 n/a

IB Testers received a summary of the Introduction to Differential Calculus unit.

non-IB Testers tried out some exercise sets on the topic of Trigonometry using Khan Academy.

none
Friday, 5/10/19 n/a

IB Testers received a summary of the Introduction to Differential Calculus unit.

non-IB Testers tried out some exercise sets on the topic of Coordinate Geometry using Khan Academy.

none
       
Monday, 5/13/19 n/a

IB Testers will take Paper 1 from noon to 1:30 pm at Lake Harriet Church.

non-IB Testers took a survey about their experience using Khan Academy. In addition, some students who did not present last week presented their Graphing Calculator User Guide section.

none
Tuesday, 5/14/19 n/a

IB Testers will take Paper 2 from 8:30 am to 10:00 am at Lake Harriet Church.

non-IB Testers had an opportunity to present their Graphing Calculator User Guide section if they had not already done so.

none
Wednesday, 5/15/19 n/a

substitute day

started a movie

none
Thursday, 5/16/19 n/a

continued a movie

A few students presented as well

none
Friday, 5/17/19 n/a

finished a movie

Period 7 played a logic game

none
       
Monday, 5/20/19 n/a substitute day

started a movie

none
Tuesday, 5/21/19 n/a

substitute day

continued a movie

none
Wednesday, 5/22/19 n/a

finished a movie

Periods 1, 5, and 7 learned KenKen

none
Thursday, 5/23/19      
Friday, 5/24/19