MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Leadership Council

Southwest became a Community Partnership School (CPS) in 2016, which means our governance is not limited to the district and principal, but also involves a Leadership Council comprised of admin, staff, students, parents/family, and community members. Site-based leadership promotes student achievement through the collaborative process of shared decision-making.  

For the school year 2019-20 Southwest is no longer a community partneship school.  SWHS still have a leadership council that acts as the site based advisory representative body of the Southwest community.

The desired outcomes of Leadership Council are to design effective and transparent structures and processes through collaborative stakeholder partnership with school administration; to guide policy and procedure in the school; and to advance goals developed and documented in the School Improvement Plan (SIP).

Leadership Council meetings are open to the public and meet on the second Monday of each month from 3:30-5:00pm, in the Southwest Media Center.  (If location changes, a sign will be posted.)

The Leadership Council provides a forum for all constituencies, or "stakeholders," to be involved in the decision-making process. We invite and welcome all parents/family, staff, students, and community members to be strong, active, and supportive Leadership partners. We want a broad base of leadership for standing and special committees. Your voice will be heard if you use it!

Students, talk to your assigned counselor or current Student LC Representative(s).

Parents, please contact your LC Parent Rep or

Community Members, please talk to administration through the main office.


Leadership Council Members, 2019-20

Katie Lipe, staff, equity and Co-Chair

Michael Ries, Staff and Co-Chair

Dr. Valerie LIttles-Butler, Adminstrative Representative, Principal

  • Camille Erickson, Admin Alternate


Nonie Kouneski, staff, union rep   

Linnea Hempel de Valdez, staff, equity

Lisa Ledman, staff, IB 

Randall Baker, staff, nl 

Teresa Rumppe, Staff

Morgan Stascavage, student, g12 

Kawsar Mohammed, student, g12 

Will Marshall, student, g12

Ellie Smith, student alternate*, g11

Ashley Ortega, student alternate", g11

Michelle Damm, parent

Tina Lee, parent

Kirsten Mair, parent

Julie Flaskamp, parent alternate*

Caroline Cochran, parent alternate*