MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS
Quarter 4 Calendar

 

Date Learning Objectives Class Activities/Resources Assignment
Monday, 4/9/18 I can find input and output values using function notation given functions or the graphs of functions

Unit 6 Day 1 Notes

Unit 6 Day 1 WS

Tuesday, 4/10/18 I can use function notation in Desmos to program transformations of functions, namely, translations and stretches Unit 6 Day 2 Notes none
Wednesday, 4/11/18 I can use function notation to represent transformations of functions (translations, stretches, and reflections) Unit 6 Day 3 Notes

Period 1

none

Periods 5 and 6

Function s Transformations HW

Thursday, 4/12/18 review day

Students selected their preferred Career Day sessions to attend next Tuesday

Unit 6 Day 4 Notes

Students in Periods 5 and 6 practed matching transformations to graphs of functions (Here is the Power Point... the solutions are 1. A 2. D 3. C 4. B 5. B 6. A 7. C 8. B)

Period 1

Function s Transformations HW

Periods 5 and 6

none

Friday, 4/13/18 quiz day Transformations Quiz (Recognizing Patterns) none
       
Monday, 4/16/18   no school (snow day)  
Tuesday, 4/17/18 I can classify these types of special quadrilaterals: trapezoids, kites, parallelograms, rhombii, rectangles, and squares Unit 7 Day 1 Notes none
Wednesday, 4/18/18 I can classify these types of special quadrilaterals: trapezoids, kites, parallelograms, rhombii, rectangles, and squares Unit 7 Day 2 Notes Unit 7 Day 2 WS
Thursday, 4/19/18 I can classify these types of special quadrilaterals: trapezoids, kites, parallelograms, rhombii, rectangles, and squares Unit 7 Day 3 Notes none
Friday, 4/20/18 I can classify these types of special quadrilaterals: trapezoids, kites, parallelograms, rhombii, rectangles, and squares

Unit 6 Quiz Retake

Today's slides

Unit 8 Day 3 WS

(should be named Unit 7 Day 3 WS... oops)

       
Monday, 4/23/18 I can identify trapezoid and kite angle and diagonal properties, and use these properties to solve problems. Unit 7 Day 4 Notes Unit 7 Day 4 WS
Tuesday, 4/24/18 I can solve problems that involve angles of quadrilaterals, quadrilateral area problems, and midsegments of trapezoids Unit 7 Day 5 Notes Unit 7 Day 5 WS
Wednesday, 4/25/18 quiz day

Quadrilateral Classification and Properties Quiz

Today's Slide

none
Thursday, 4/26/18 I can distinguish the difference between a sketch, a drawing, and a construction.  Unit 8 Day 1 Notes none
Friday, 4/27/18 I can construct a piece of Islamic Geometric artwork Unit 8 Day 2 Notes none
       
Monday, 4/30/18 I can construct a piece of Islamic Geometric artwork Unit 8 Day 3 Notes none
Tuesday, 5/1/18 I can use square grids and isometric grids to construct parallel lines, perpendicular lines, squares, rectangles, parallelograms, trapezoids, and kites Unit 8 Day 4 Notes Unit 8 Day 4 WS (#3)
Wednesday, 5/2/18 review day There was a substitute teacher today.  Students worked on a review packet for Quadrilaterals Quiz Retake Unit 8 Day 5 WS
Thursday, 5/3/18 I can find the perimeter and area of composite shapes Unit 8 Day 6 Notes Unit 8 Day 6 WS
Friday, 5/4/18 quiz day

Quadrilaterals Quiz Retake

&

Perimeter and Area of Composites Quiz

Today's slides

none
       
Monday, 5/7/18 I can see the connection between 3-dimensional solid figures and the area of a compound shape Unit 8 Day 8 Notes Unit 8 Day 8 WS
Tuesday, 5/8/18 I can use formulae to find the surface areas of solids with curved surfaces, such as cones, cylinders, and spheres. Unit 8 Day 9 Notes Unit 8 Day 9 WS
Wednesday, 5/9/18 I can find the surface area of relatively complex figures including prisms with regular polygon bases Unit 8 Day 10 Notes Unit 8 Day 10 WS
Thursday. 5/10/18 quiz day

Surface Area Quiz

Today's slides

none
Friday, 5/11/18 n/a no class (AP testing) none
       
Monday, 5/14/18

I can determine for which types of data sets it is appropriate to use the measures of center: mean, median, and mode.

I can determine the effects that extreme values (aka outliers) have on each measure of center

Unit 9 Day 1 Notes Unit 9 Day 1 WS
Tuesday, 5/15/18 I can determine strengths and weaknesses of each of the following measures of spread: standard deviation, range, and interquartile range. Unit 9 Day 2 Notes Unit 9 Day 2 WS
Wednesday, 5/16/18 I can visualize distributions using quartiles and quintiles (aka... box-and-whisker plots), as well as analyze distributions using these visualizations. Unit 9 Day 3 Notes Unit 9 Day 3 WS
Thursday, 5/17/18

review day

(also... previewed the statistics unit assessment)

Unit 9 Day 3 Notes none
Friday, 5/18/18  

Summative Assessment

(Perimeter and Area of Composites and Surface Area)

Today's slides

none
       
Monday, 5/21/18 assessment day Students produced a statistical report in groups of 3 or 4 students, which will be their assessment for the statistical unit none
Tuesday, 5/22/18 I can use tables of outcomes to calculate theoretical probabilities.

Unit 10 Day 1 Notes

Warm-up slip

Bingo Board

none
Wednesday, 5/23/18 I can justify why experimental probabilities approach theoretical probabilities when the amount of valid data collected increases.

Play Craps (here is a related video)

Craps: A Casino Game of Probability WS

Unit 10 Day 2 Notes

(Period 1)

none
Thursday, 5/24/18 I can solve experimental probability problems, and determine probabilities when data is contained in tables Unit 10 Day 3 Notes Unit 10 Day 3 WS
Friday, 5/25/18 I can calculate theoretical probabilities using area models Unit 10 Day 4 Notes Unit 10 Day 4 WS
       
Monday, 5/28/18   no school (Memorial Day)  
Tuesday, 5/29/18 I can solve expected value problems Unit 10 Day 5 Notes Unit 10 Day 5 WS
Wednesday, 5/30/18 I can use experimental probabilities from sampling to figure out expected values Unit 10 Day 6 Notes none
Thursday, 5/31/18 review day (for final)

Students started to review for the final exam

Final Exam Review Packet

Final Exam Formula Sheet

Today's Slides

Attempt the first 30 problems in the Final Exam Review Packet (you'll have time next Monday to attempt the remainder of the problems)
Friday, 6/1/18 quiz day Probability Quiz none
       
Monday, 6/4/18 review day Today's Slides none
Tuesday, 6/5/18 test day

Final Exam: Periods 2, 3, 4

none
  test day Final Exam: Periods 1, 5, 6, 7 none