MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS
Quarter 4 Calendar

 

Date Learning Objectives Class Activities/Resources Assignment
Monday, 4/4/16

 I can write and interpret set notation pertaining to unions, intersections, numbers of elements in a set, subsets, and proper subsets

Quarter 4 Overview

7A Notes 

7A (p. 214-215) #1-9 (Due Wednesday)

Tuesday, 4/5/16

 I can write and interpret set notation pertaining to unions, intersections, numbers of elements in a set, subsets, and proper subsets

finished 7A Notes

7A (p. 214-215) #1-9

Wednesday, 4/6/16 I can write and interpret set builder notation

Corrected 7A HW 

7B Notes

7B (p. 216) #1-3, 4abcd 

Thursday, 4/7/16

I can write complements of sets under the guidlines of a universal set 

Corrected 7B HW 

7C Notes

 7C (p. 217 - 218) #2, 3, 5, 8, 9, 11

Friday, 4/8/16 I can recognize sets deplicted in Venn Diagrams

 Corrected 7C HW

7D and 7E Notes

HW Self-Assessment

7D (p. 221) #1bd, 4, 6, 7

and 7E (p. 222) #1

       
Monday, 4/11/16 n/a

Periods 4 and 6:

Corrected 7D and 7E HW

Reviewed for Mini-Quiz

Period 7:

College Fair

none
Tuesday, 4/12/16 I can create a Venn Diagram (with two or three sets) using a list of counts; and then I can use the Venn Diagram to solve problems involving the size of sets

Venn Diagram Notes

Mini-Quiz 7ABCDE

Venn Diagram WS
Wednesday, 4/13/16 I can create a Venn Diagram (with two or three sets) using a list of counts; and then I can use the Venn Diagram to solve problems involving the size of sets

Corrected Venn Diagram WS

Venn Diagram Day 2 Notes

WS 7G
Thursday, 4/14/16 I can create a Venn Diagram (with two or three sets) using a list of counts; and then I can use the Venn Diagram to solve problems involving the size of sets

Corrected WS 7G

Venn Diagram Day 3 Notes

WS 7G Part 2
Friday, 4/15/16 mini-quiz day

Warm-Up

Corrected WS 7G Part 2

HW Self-Assessment

Mini-Quiz 7FG

none
       
Monday, 4/18/16 I can use clues and organizational schemes to solve logic puzzles

Introduction to Logic Puzzles Notes... the Five Boys and Five Dogs Problem

Period 4

Five Women Out To Dinner WS

Period 6

Parking Lot WS

Period 7

Who Dun Its WS

Tuesday, 4/19/16 I can solve Ken-Ken math logic puzzles

Handed out MCA Test Reminder Slips

Discussed Mini-Quiz Results

Ken-Ken Logic Puzzles Notes

Ken-Ken Logic Puzzles WS
Wednesday, 4/20/16

I can identify statements that are propositions. 

I can write the negation of a proposition, and determine whether the proposition and its negation are true, false, or indeterminate

I can represent sets for propositions and negations in a Venn Diagram

8A Notes

8A.1 (p. 233 -234) #2abcde, 3, 5abc

8A.2 (p. 235) #1ab, 3, 4

Thursday, 4/21/16 I can write compound propositions (conjuctions, disjunctions, and exclusive disjunctions)

Corrected 8A HW

8B Notes

8B.1 (p. 236) #2, 3

8B.2 (p. 238-240) #2, 4, 5, 6, 7abcd, 10

Friday, 4/22/16

I can complete truth tables for compound propositions

I can identify tautologies, logical contradictions, and logically equivalent propositions

Corrected 8B HW

HW Self-Assessment

8C Notes

WS 8C
       
Monday, 4/25/16 I can write implications and equivalences, and determine whether these statements are true or false given true or false propositions

Corrected WS 8C

8D Notes

8D (p. 246 - 247) #2, 4, 5abcd, 8ac
Tuesday, 4/26/16

I can write an implications' converse, inverse, and contrapositive, as well as complete truth tables for each of these statements

I can determine that an implication and its' contrapositive are logically equivalent, as well as an implications' converse and inverse

Corrected 8D HW

Periods 4 and 7

8E Notes

Period 6

finished 8D Notes

Periods 4 and 7

WS 8E

Period 6

none

Wednesday, 4/27/16 review day

Correct WS 8E

Periods 4 and 7

Students built truth tables in groups

Period 6

8E Notes

Periods 4 and 7

Chapter 8 Review Packet

Period 6

WS 8E

Thursday, 4/28/16 review day

worktime on Chapter 8 Review Packet

Complete Chapter 8 Review Packet
Friday, 4/29/16 test day

HW Self-Assessment

Chapter 8 Test

none
       
Monday, 5/2/16 I can solve experimental probability problems

Discussed test results

9A Notes

9A.1 (p. 260) 1, 2

9A.2 (p. 264) #1, 2

Tuesday, 5/3/16 I can determine the sample space for an experiment

Corrected 9A HW

9B Notes

9B (p. 266) #1, 2abc, 3abc
Wednesday, 5/4/16 I can solve theoretical probability problems

Corrected 9B HW

9C Notes

9C.1 (p. 268-269) #1, 2, 6

9C.2 (p. 270) #3

9C.3 (p. 271) #2, 3

Thursday, 5/5/16 I can distinguish independent events from dependant events, as well as calculate the probabilities of both types of compound events

Corrected 9C HW

9D Notes

9D.1 (p. 273) #1-3, 6

9D.2 (p. 274-275) #1, 2, 5

Friday, 5/6/16 scrabble day

Corrected 9D HW

HW Self-Assessment

Play Scabble

Scabble Problem WS
       
Monday, 5/9/16 I can make tree diagrams to find sample spaces and probabilities, including for situations when there is replacement as well as when there is not replacement

 Corrected Scrabble Problem WS

9E and 9F Notes

9E (p. 277) #1-5

9F (p. 279-280) #1, 2, 7

Tuesday, 5/10/16 review day

Corrected 9E and 9F HW

Students had time to work on Topic 3 Quiz 1 Review Packet. 

Topic 3 Quiz 1 Review Packet (key in back)
Wednesday, 5/11/16 quiz day

Corrected Topic 3 Quiz 1 Review Packet

Quiz 9ABCDEF

none
Thursday, 5/12/16 I can solve expected value problems, including those regarding fair games

Discussed Quiz Results

9G Notes

9G.1 (p. 282) #1, 2, 4

9G.2 (p. 283 - 284) #3, 5

9G.3 (p. 284 - 285) #1, 2, 5

Friday, 5/13/16 I can determine if Craps is a fair game

Corrected 9G HW

HW Self-Assessment

Play Craps (here is a related video)

Data from each class:

Period 4  Period 6  Period 7

Craps WS
       
Monday, 5/16/16 I can use Venn Diagrams to determine probabilities

9H Notes

9H (p. 287-288) #2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9
Tuesday, 5/17/16 I can find the probability of one event and another event occuring, as well as the probability of one event or another event occuring using Venn Diagrams

Corrected 9H HW

9I Notes

9I (p. 290) #1-5
Wednesday, 5/18/16 I can solve conditional probability problems

Corrected 9I HW

9J Notes

9J (p. 291 - 293) #2-4, 7, 11, 12
Thursday, 5/19/16 I can solve independent events probability problems

Corrected 9J HW

9K Notes

9K (p. 294 - 295) #1-3, 6
Friday, 5/20/16 review day

Correted 9K HW

HW Self-Assessment

Topic 3 Test 1 Review Packet (solutions)

       
Monday, 5/23/16 review day workday on the Topic 3 Test 1 Review Packet study for test
Tuesday, 5/24/16 test day Chapter 9 Test none
Wednesday, 5/25/16 I can tackle ACT probability problems

The warm-up involved calculating a math studies student's overall grade using a progress report that listed weighted category grades

Students spent the rest of the period working on the ACT Probability WS

none
Thursday, 5/26/16 I can tackle ACT trigonometry problems

Corrected ACT Probability WS

Students spent the rest of the period working on the ACT Trigonometry WS

none
Friday, 5/27/16 I can tackle ACT plane geometry problems

Corrected ACT Trigonometry WS

Students spent the rest of the period working on the ACT Plane Geometry WS (here is a helpful plane geometry cheatsheet)

none
       
Monday, 5/30/16   no school (Memorial Day)  
Tuesday, 5/31/16 I can tackle ACT coordinate geometry problems

Corrected ACT Solid Geometry WS

Students spent the rest of the period working on the ACT Coordinate Geometry WS

none
Wednesday, 6/1/16  

Corrected ACT Coordinate Geometry WS

Students spent the rest of the period taking the Geometry/Trigonometry Only Practice ACT.

 
Thursday, 6/2/16   Students finished up the Geometry/Trigonometry Only Practice ACT, and then corrected their work.  As part of the correction process, they completed the Correction WS  
Friday, 6/3/16      
       
Monday, 6/6/16 finals day

Period 4: ACT Final Exam

Periods 6 and 7: no class

none
Tuesday, 6/7/16 finals day

Period 4: no class

Periods 6 and 7: ACT Final Exam

none