MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact
Quarter 3 Calendar

Date

Learning Objective

Class Activities/Resources

Assignment

Monday, 1/28/19  

no school (snow day)

 

Tuesday, 1/29/19  

no school (cold day)

 
Wednesday, 1/30/19

 

no school (cold day)

 

Thursday, 1/31/19  

no school (cold day)

 

Friday, 2/1/19
I can identify statements that are propositions.  

I can write the negation of a proposition, and determine whether the proposition and its negation are true, false, or indeterminate.

I can represent sets for propositions and negations in a Venn Diagram

We are starting a new unit about Logic, so students received a new assignment sheet and a new guided note packet.

8A Notes

 

8A.1 (p. 233 -234) #2abcde, 3, 5abc

8A.2 (p. 235) #1ab, 3, 4

 

Use the key in the back of the textbook to check solutions

       
Monday, 2/4/19

I can write compound propositions (conjuctions, disjunctions, and exclusive disjunctions).

8B Notes

8B.1 (p. 236) #2, 
 
8B.2 (p. 238-240) #2, 4, 5, 6, 7abcd, 10
 

Use the key in the back of the textbook to check solutions

Tuesday, 2/5/19

 I can complete truth tables for compound propositions

I can identify tautologies, logical contradictions, and logically equivalent propositions.

 8C Notes

WS 8C

Solutions

Wednesday, 2/6/19

 I can write implications and equivalences, and determine whether these statements are true or false given true or false propositions.

8D Notes

8D (p. 246 - 247) #2, 4, 5abcd, 8acd

Use the key in the back of the textbook to check solutions

Thursday, 2/7/19  

(late start day)

IAs were returned

It was a catch up day where students had time to prepare this weeks assignments for submission on Friday.

 

Friday, 2/8/19

 

no school (cold day)

 

       
Monday, 2/11/19

 can write an implications' converse, inverse, and contrapositive, as well as complete truth tables for each of these statements.

I can determine that an implication and its' contrapositive are logically equivalent, as well as an implications' converse and inverse.

8E Notes

Collected HW Self-Assessment #1 (Assignments #1- 4)

 

WS 8E

Solutions

Tuesday, 2/12/19

review day

Students will be given time in class to work on some review problems.

Chapter 8 Review WS

Solutions

Wednesday, 2/13/19

review day

Students will build truth tables in groups to discover truth columns for compound propositions and implications.

none

Thursday, 2/14/19

test day

Chapter 8 Test

Students turned in their Chapter 8 Guided Note Packets

HW Self-Assessment #2 (Assignments #5-6)

(Parent-Teacher Conferences from 4:00 - 8:00 pm)

 
Friday, 2/15/19    

no school

(Parent-Teacher Conferences from 8:00 AM - noon)

 

       
Monday, 2/18/19

 

no school

(President's Day)

 
Tuesday, 2/19/19

I can recognize a pattern in a number set, describe the pattern with words, and continue the pattern.

I can interpret general term notation and use general terms to calculate the value of specific terms in a sequence.

We are starting a new unit about Sequences and Series, so students received a new assignment sheet and a new work packet.  The work packet is for both taking notes and completing assignments.


5A and 5B Notes

page 3

(in the Chapter 5 work packet)

Wednesday, 2/20/19

 

no school (snow day)

 

Thursday, 2/21/19

I can write general terms for arithmetic sequences given consecutive terms, or non-consecutive terms, of a sequence.

5C Notes

pages 4 and 5

(in the Chapter 5 work packet)

Friday, 2/22/19

I can write general terms for geometric sequences given consecutive terms, or non-consecutive terms, of a sequence.

5D Notes

HW Self-Assessment #3 (Assignments #1-2)

page 7

(in the Chapter 5 work packet)

       
Monday, 2/25/19

I can apply arithmetic sequences to story problems.

I can use geometric sequences to model growth and decay, which includes the skill of converting a percentage of growth or decay into a constant ratio.

5C.2 and 5D.2 Notes

pages 6 and 8

(in the Chapter 5 work packet)

Tuesday, 2/26/19

I can use the arithmetic series formula to solve problems given either the last term of the series or the common difference.

I can use the geometric series formula to solve problems where the common ratio is a positive value or a negative value.

5E Notes

Part of the lesson was watching this YouTube video: Gauss's Addition.

page 9

(in the Chapter 5 work packet)

Wednesday, 2/27/19

review day

review notes

Arithmetic and Geometric Series and Sequences Review WS

Solutions

Thursday, 2/28/19

quiz day

Quiz 5ABCDE

Students also turned in their Chapter 5 work packets so Mr. Sturm could score pages 6 through 9

none
Friday, 3/1/19

I can solve for each of four different unknown variables in the compound interest formula.

I can decode compound interest problems to identify each of the following variables: the final balance, the starting balance, the interest rate, the number of years, and the compounding frequency.

Prerequisite Skills Notes (for compound interest) 

pages 10, 11, and 12

(in the Chapter 5 w ork packet)

 

       
Monday, 3/4/19

I can use the compound interest formula to find final values for investments that compound annually, semiannually, quarterly, monthly, and daily.

5F Notes (Day 1)

pages 13, 14, and 15

(in the Chapter 5 work packet)

Tuesday, 3/5/19

I can use the compound interest formula to find final values for investments that compound annually, semiannually, quarterly, monthly, and daily.

5F Notes (Day 2)

pages 16 and 17

(in the Chapter 5 work packet)

Wednesday, 3/6/19

I can solve compound interest application problems, including those that involve depreciation.

5F (Day 3) and 5G Notes

pages 18 and 19

(in the Chapter 5 work packet)

Thursday, 3/7/19

review day

(late start day)

Review Day 1 Notes

pages 20 and 23 ...     Review Set A

(in the Chapter 5 work packet)

Friday, 3/8/19

review day

Review Day 2 Notes

review your Chapter 5 workpacket for test

       
Monday, 3/11/19

test day

Chapter 5 Test

Collected the Chapter 5 work packet

none

Tuesday, 3/12/19

I can evaluate exponential functions.

I can draw a graph of an exponential function and identify where the horizontal ansymptote is.

We are starting a new unit about Exponential Functions, so students received a new assignment sheet and a new guided note packet

18A and 18B.1 Notes

pages 3 and 4

(in the Chapter 18 work packet)

Wednesday, 3/13/19

I can describe the end behavior of an exponential function.

I8B.1 (Day 2) Notes

pages 5 and 6

(in the Chapter 18 work packet)

Thursday, 3/14/19 For exponential functions in the form y = ka^x + c and y = ka^(-x) + c, I can determine how k, a, and c effect the steepness of the curve, the direction of the curve, and the vertical position of the curve 18B.2 (Day 1) Notes

page 7

(in the Chapter 18 work packet)

Friday, 3/15/19 For any exponential function, I can calculate the y-intercept, write down the equation of the horizontal asymptote, determine the value of y when x equals centain values (in order to get a general idea of the graphs' shape), sketch the function, and state the domain/range of the function 18B.2 (Day 2) Notes

pages 8 and 9

(in the Chapter 18 work packet)

       
Monday, 3/18/19

I can solve exponential equations using the intersection point of graphs

optional: I can solve exponential equations using logarithms

18C Notes

pages 10 and 11

(in the Chapter 18 work packet)

Tuesday, 3/19/19

I can model exponential growth and exponential decay.

I can use exponential growth and decay equations to solve problems

18D.1 and 18D.2 Notes

pages 12, 13, and 14

(in the Chapter 18 work packet)

Wednesday, 3/20/19 I can use an exponential decay model to depict data observed in a real world data set

18D Extension Notes (Period 1)

18D Extension Notes (Period 2)

18D Extension Notes (Period 3)

18D Extension Notes (Period 5)

18D Extension Notes (Period 7)

pages 15 and 16

(in the Chapter 18 work packet)

Thursday, 3/21/19 review day Review Notes

pages 17 and 20

(in the Chapter 18 work packet)

Friday, 3/22/19 review day Review Notes

review your Chapter 18 workpacket for test

       
Monday, 3/25/19 quiz day

Chapter 18 Quiz

optional: pages 21 and 22

(in the Chapter 18 work packet)

Tuesday, 3/26/19  

Collected the Chapter 18 work packet