Nordic Ski Team
2015 State Meet Team-Avi, Joey, Conlan, Foss, Adie, Torstein, Noah
2105 State Meet Qualifiers. Daisy and Lily Richmond

Welcome to the Southwest High School Nordic Ski Website

Scroll to the bottom for the team calendar.

We are excited for the 2015 season. Our Boy's and Girl's Teams will be competitive to make it to the State Meet. WE WANT NEW SKIERS. We had  our Southwest Nordic Kickoff Meeting in the SW High School Auditorium October 19. If you could not make it or if you need to get the forms for the team, click on the "Forms" link in the side bar. There is a "Nordic Parent Checklist" form which summarizes what you need.

2015 Schedule

Monday, Nov 2 Captain’s Practice starts

Monday, Nov 9 First day of practice

Tuesday, Dec 8 Varsity Freestyle Race

Thursday, Dec 10 JV Freestyle Race

Dec 11 - Dec 13 Training Trip to ABR in Ironwood, Michigan

Tuesday, Dec 15 Varsity Classic Race

Thursday, Dec 17 JV Classic Race

Dec 28 - Dec 31 Training Trip to Giant’s Ridge

Saturday, Jan 2 Gotzsche Double Loppet

Tuesday, Jan 5 Varsity Relay Race

Thursday, Jan 7 JV Relay Race

Saturday, Jan 9 Minneapolis Invite (top 10 boys and girls)

Sunday, Jan 10 JV citizen’s race -- Pre-Loppet 17K

Tuesday, Jan 12 Varsity Sprints Race

Thursday, Jan 14 JV Sprints Race

Tuesday, Jan 19 Varsity Skiathalon Race

Thursday, Jan 21 JV Skiathalon Race

Saturday, Jan 23 Three Rivers SkiRennet citizen’s race

Sunday, Jan 24 Marine O’Brien citizen’s race

Tuesday, Jan 26 Conference Championships Race

Monday, Feb 1 Sectional Championships (Section 2)

Saturday, Feb 6 City of Lakes Loppet classic citizen’s race

Sunday, Feb 7 City of Lakes Loppet freestyle citizen’s race

Tuesday, Feb 9 JV City Championships

Thursday, Feb 11 State Championships



Weekly Schedule


Strength Training T, Th + few F 6:30 - 7:30 am 

Dryland M 3:15 - 5 pm (all season)

Wirth (post-snow) T, Th, F 3:30 - 6 pm (bus only on T & Th) 

Saturdays 2.5 hr morning practices at Hyland Park (no bus)

Before School Ski W + few F 6 am @ Hyland Nordic (no bus)


Pasta Feeds


Wednesday, Dec 2 Pre-snow parent social

Friday, Jan 8 Before Minneapolis Invite (parent mixer + skier pasta party)

Monday, Jan 25 Before Conference Championships Race

Monday, Feb 8 Before JV City Championships Race



Three Rivers Parks Trail Conditions.  

Wirth Park Trail Conditions from Skinny Ski

If you are new to this site, please check out the prior season's photo gallery to get a feel for all the great times the SW Nordic Ski Team has to offer


Head Coachs -  Drew Holbrook James DundonChis Johnson

The Nordic Ski site contains general information on our program, training information, race information and our current calendar (see below for an agenda format).  To make team communication easier, we are using Team Snap this year.  See below for details.  The sidebar to the right contains a link to Team Snap, the team Google calendar (and a printable calendar), upcoming training trips, updates from the coaches, information from the Booster Club and more.  See the Equipment link for suggestions on clothing, flyers from local ski supply shops and ski swaps.  To help with the upcoming pasta parties, please use the Volunteer Spot link below to sign up (coming soon).

Team Snap has become the primary communication tool for the Nordic Ski Team.  If you are interested in joining the Nordic Team, please click this link and hit the "Contact Team Owner" and request an invitation.  


Nordic Ski Events