National Honor Society (NHS)

National Honor Society (NHS) is a nation-wide organization for students recognized for their scholarship, leadership, service, and character. 

Prospective members are invited to apply as seniors, juniors, and, as of Spring 2014, sophomores.  To be considered, applicants must have a 3.5 GPA and be able to demonstrate a commitment to Southwest High School, the community at large, academic excellence, and extra-curricular participation. 

Members, click here to log volunteer hours.  You will need to log in using your MPS username and password.

For those with questions, please email NHS advisors Robert Rees. ( or Greg Denysenko ( 
The 2014-2015 NHS induction ceremony was held on Tuesday, October 28th.   The following applicants were accepted for membership into Southwest National Honor Society and were inducted that evening, along with those Southwest students who had applied and been accepted in April 2014:
Aultman, Savanna 
Brunmeier, Nathan
Carlsen, Michael 
Carroll, lsabella                                        
Chadbourn, Sophia 
Clay, Emerson
Curtin, Nora
Dallin, Ginger 
Heltemes, Paull 
Knutson, Callen
Kreici, Cleo
Kirk, Jillian
Lederman, Zenya 
Mohamed, Mohamed
Pekala, Julianne
Petersen, Mara 
Prince, Claire
Ramos, Hannah
Sandin, Mikayla
Scholz-Carlson, Anna
Smith, Graham
Steen, Sarah
Stone, Sarah
Sweet, Dugan
Thompson, Arianna
Watson, Serena
Wulfman, William