MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS
Calendar

 

Date Learning Objectives Class Activities/Resources Assignment
Monday, 8/24/15 I can properly use order of operations to build and evaluate algebraic expressions to represent selected values

Completed blue Introduction (5 Questions) Form

Students discussed characteristics of group members that they consider positive and negative.

Groups worked on the Four 4's Activity

Here are today's slides

 

none

Tuesday, 8/25/15 I can use a visual representation of numbers to relate the attributes of prime numbers verses non-primes

The Number Visuals Activity 

Bring the following materials each day:

pencil

lined paper

graph paper

graphing calculatior

Wednesday, 8/26/15 I can use a hundreds chart to help problem solve with inductive reasoning problems

 The Consecutive Numbers Activity

none
Thursday, 8/27/15

 

I can determine prime numbers and composite numbers

I can factorize and write prime factorizations for numbers

I can find common factors and highest common factors for two or more numbers

 

1C Notes

 

1C.1 (p. 25-26) #2, 4abcdef, 5-7

1C.2 (p. 27) #3

 

Friday, 8/28/15 I can find the common multiples of a set with two or more numbers, as well as determine the least common multiple (LCM)

 Corrected 1C.1 and 1C.2 HW

1C.3 and 1D Notes

1C.3 (p. 28) #1

1D (p. 30) #1, 2, 5-8

       
Monday, 8/31/15 I can use BEMDAS to properly evaluate an algebraic expression (that is; I know the proper order of operations)

Corrected 1C.3 and 1D HW

1E Notes

8/31/15 Order of Operations Classwork (1E) Slip
Tuesday, 9/1/15 (review day)

Prior Learning Review Day Notes (and homework solutions)

Vocabulary Flash Cards

Prior Learning (1C - 1E) Review WS
Wednesday, 9/2/15 (quiz day)

Order of Operations Warm-Up

Corrected Prior Learning (1C - 1E) Review WS

Quiz 1C, 1D, 1E

none
Thursday, 9/3/15 I can identify the names, abbreviations, and elements (numbers) in several special number sets: natural numbers, integers, rational numbers, irrational numbers, and real numbers 1F Notes

1F.1 (p. 34) #4, 5, 6

1F.2 (p. 35) #1, 3

Friday, 9/4/15 I can convert a measurement of time from one unit to another, as well as find the difference between two stated times

Corrected 1F HW

Completed HW Self-Assessment

2A Notes

2A (p. 39-40) #1c, 2bd, 3, 6
       
Monday, 9/7/15   no school (Labor Day)  
Tuesday, 9/8/15

I can convert a temperature between the Celsius and Fahrenheit temperature scales

Corrected 2A HW

2B Notes

2B (p. 41-42) #3, 4, 6, 7
Wednesday, 9/9/15

I can write a decimal number in scientific notation, and vice versa

I can interpret a calculators' presentation of a number into scientific notation

Corrected 2B HW

2C Notes

2C (p. 43-44) #1-7
Thursday, 9/10/15 Quiz Day

Corrected 2C HW

Quiz 1F, 2A, 2B, 2C

Punchline WS (Scientific Notation)
Friday, 9/11/15 I can convert between SI units, such as kilolitres to millilitres

2D Notes

Completed HW Self-Assessment

2D (p. 47) #1-3, 4aei, 5ad, 6-8
       
Monday, 9/14/15

I can round numbers to different multiples of 10

I can round numbers to a certain number of decimal places

I can write numbers with a certain number of significant figures

Corrected 2D HW

2E Notes

Period 6 and 7: Guest speaker spoke about Prepare2NSpire Program

2E.1 (p. 49) #4

2E.2 (p. 50) #2

2E.3 (p. 51) #1-3

Tuesday, 9/15/15 review day

Corrected 2E HW

Review Notes

Topic 1 Test 1 Study Guide (key in back)
Wednesday, 9/16/15 review day

Review Notes

Discussed Quiz Results

study for test
Thursday, 9/17/15 test day Topic 1 Test 1 One Month Survey
Friday, 9/18/15

I can recognize a pattern in a number set, describe the pattern with words, and continue the pattern.

I can interpret general term notation and use general terms to calculate the value of specific terms in a sequence.

Collected One Month Surveys

Completed HW Self-Assessment

5A Notes

Recognizing Sequences WS (5A)

       
Monday, 9/21/15

I can interpret general term notation and use general terms to calculate the value of specific terms in a sequence.

Corrected Recognizing Sequences WS (5A)

5B Notes (Period 4)

5B Notes (Periods 6 and 7)

5B (p. 130) #1, 2, 3abcd, 4, 5
Tuesday, 9/22/15

I can write general terms for arithmetic sequences given consecutive terms, or non-consecutive terms, of a sequence

Corrected 5B HW

5C Notes

5C (p. 133-134) #2, 3, 7d, 9ac, 10a, 11
Wednesday, 9/23/15

I can write general terms for arithmetic sequences given consecutive terms, or non-consecutive terms, of a sequence

Corrected 5C HW

Classwork: Topic 1 Quiz 2 (5ABC) Review WS

none
Thursday, 9/24/15 I can apply arithmetic sequences to story problems

Corrected Topic 1 Quiz 2 (5ABC) Review WS

5C (Day 2) Notes

5C (p. 135) #13-15
Friday, 9/25/15 Quiz Day

Corrected 5C HW (#13-15)

HW Self-Assessment

Quiz 5ABC (except Period 6)

none
       
Monday, 9/28/15

I can write the general term for a geometric sequence given the first several terms in the sequence

I can write the general term for a geometric sequence given two nonconsecutive terms in the sequence

Periods 4 and 6: discussed quiz results

5D.1 Notes

5D.1 (p. 136-137) #2-6, 9bc
Tuesday, 9/29/15 I can write the general term for arithmetic and geometric sequences given 1.  the first several terms in the sequence, 2. one terms' value and the common difference/common ratio, or 3. two nonconsecutive terms in the sequence

Corrected 5D.1 HW

Arithmetic and Geometric Sequence Problems Notes

WS 5C & 5D.1
Wednesday, 9/30/15 I can use geometric sequences to model growth and decay, which includes the skill of conversing a percentage of growth or decay into a onstant ratio

Corrected WS 5C & 5D.1 HW

5D.2 Notes

5D.2 (p. 139) #1a, 3a, 5
Thursday, 10/1/15 I can use the sum of an arithmetic sequence formula to solve problems related to the sum of an arithmetic sequence

Corrected 5D.2 HW

5E.1 Notes

5E.1 (p. 141-142) #1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8a
Friday, 10/2/15 I can use artihmetic and geometric series sum formulas to solve solve problems

Corrected 5E.1 HW

HW Self-Assessment

5E.2 Notes

5E.2 (p. 144-145) #1, 2abc, 5, 6
       
Monday, 10/5/15 I can use the general term and sum formulas for both arithmetic and geometric sequences/series to find missing variables

Corrected 5E.2 HW

5DE Review Notes

5DE Review WS
Tueday, 10/6/15 quiz day

Corrected 5DE Review WS

Quiz 5DE

none
Wednesday, 10/7/15 I can use the compound interest formula to find final values (and subsequently...interest earned) for investments that compound annually, semiannually, quarterly, monthly, and daily 5F.1 Notes 5F.1 (p. 148) #1, 2, 4, 6
Thursday, 10/8/15 I can use the compound interest formula, arithmetic general term and sum formulas, and geometric general term and sum formulas to compare various payment options that take on compounded interest, arithmetic, and geometric forms

Corrected 5F.1 HW

5F.1 Day 2 Notes

WS 5F
Friday, 10/9/15 review day

Corrected WS 5F

HW Self-Assessment

5G Notes

Topic 1 Test 2 Study Guide
       
Monday, 10/12/15 review day

Corrected Topic 1 Test 2 Study Guide

Review Notes

study for test
Tuesday, 10/13/15 test day Topic 1 Test 2 (Chapter 5 Test) To Be Determined
Wednesday, 10/14/15   no school (Parent-Teacher Conferences)  
Thursday, 10/15/15   no school (MEA break)  
Friday, 10/16/15   no school (MEA break)  
       
Monday, 10/19/15 I can solve linear equations by maintaining the balance, and when necessary, by combining like terms, using the distribution method and cross-multiplication.

4B and 4C Notes

Discussed Test Results

4B.1 (p. 95) #1e, 2e

4B.2 (p. 96-97) #1b, 2b, 3b, 4b

4C (p. 99) #1abc, 2abc, 4abc

Tuesday, 10/20/15 I can translate story problems into algebraic equations, and then, solve the equation for the unknown variable

Corrected 4B and 4C HW

4E Notes

4E (p. 101-103) #2-10 evens
Wednesday, 10/21/15 I can solve two simultaneous, linear functions by using the substitution method

Corrected 4E HW

4H.3 Notes

4H.3 (p. 111) #1-3
Thursday, 10/22/15 I can solve two simultaneous, linear functions by using the substitution method

Correct 4H.3 HW

Workday

Substitution Punchline WS (due by the end of class)

none
Friday, 10/23/15 I can solve two simultaneous, linear functions by using the elimination method

HW Self-Assessment (postponed to Monday the 26th)

4H.4 Notes

4H.4 (p. 112) #1, 2ae, 4bdf
       
Monday, 10/26/15 I can write simultaneous equations from a description and determine whether the method of elimination or the method of substitution is the easier way to find the solution

Corrected 4H.4 HW

HW Self-Assessment

Review Notes

Topic 6 Quiz 1 Study Guide
Tuesday, 10/27/15 quiz day

Corrected Topic 6 Quiz 1 Study Guide

Topic 6 Quiz 1 (4B.2, 4B.3, 4C, 4E, 4H.3, 4H.4)

none
Wednesday, 10/28/15 n/a

(Some juniors period 4 will be taking the PSAT test)

4I Notes

Mr. Sturm will allow students who missed yesterday's quiz to take it after school today

Linear Equations Word Problem Practice WS
Thursday, 10/29/15 n/a no school (Staff Development Day) n/a
Friday, 10/30/15 n/a no school (Staff Grading Day) n/a