MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS
World Languages Department
imgres.jpg

Learning languages is an essential part of the curriculum at Southwest High School and is offered at many levels over the four years of high school. The language study brings the world into our classrooms and school, and it ensures success as a global citizen.  It is an essential piece of the I.B. learner experience.

Current course offerings include: MYP Language Acquisition (years 1 through 3), Language B 4th year (which is an SL course for seniors planning to test), Language B SL 5th year and Language B HL 6th year.

The World Language staff of Southwest High School welcomes your interest and questions.  Below is a list of the contact information for the faculty.  Individual teacher web pages can be found by clicking on the teacher's name.

The following is a list of the languages taught for the 2016-2017 school year.

Teacher and courses taught this year:

AMERICAN SIGN LANGUAGE

Jodi Marker Perelman (department chair), teaches 1st, 2nd and 3rd year ASL

E-mail: Jodi.Perelman@mpls.k12.mn.us

FRENCH

Camilla Glattly, teaches French 3, 4, 5&6

E-mail: Camilla.Glattly@mpls.k12.mn.us

Sarah Hallaway, teaches French 1 & 2

E-mail: Sarah.Hallaway@mpls.k12.mn.us

Allyson Esades, teaches French 3

E-mail: Allyson.Esades@mpls.k12.mn.us

JAPANESE

 Kyoko French, teaches Japanese 1,2,3,4,5&6

E-mail: Kyoko.French@mpls.k12.mn.us

SPANISH

Caitlin Dowden, teaches Spanish 2 & 4

E-mail: Caitlin.Dowden@mpls.k12.mn.us

Jose Fresco, teaches Spanish 4 & 6

E-mail: Jose.Fresco@mpls.k12.mn.us

Kristin Woebke, teaches Spanish 2 & 3

E-mail: Kristin.Woebke@mpls.k12.mn.us

Jonathan Townsend, teaches Spanish 3 & 5

E-mail: Jonathan.Townsend@mpls.k12.mn.us

Steve Gehrenbeck-Miller, teaches Spanish 1 and 2.   

E-mail: Steve.Gehrenbeck-Miller@mpls.l12.mn.us

Raquel Andrade, teaches Spanish 2

E-mail: Raquel.Andrade@mpls.k12.mn.us