MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS
Southwest Leadership Council

Southwest is now a Community Partnership School (CPS), which means our governance is not limited to the district and principal, but also involves a Leadership Council comprised of staff, students, and parents. Site-based management promotes student achievement through the collaborative process of shared decision-making.

Our Desired Outcome is the creation of an effective decision-making team to guide the policies of the school, and to advance the goals developed in the School Improvement Plan (SIP).
The Leadership Council provides a forum for all constituencies to become involved in the decision-making process. We are recruiting parents/family, staff, and students who will be strong, active, and supportive Leadership partners.


Leadership Council meetings are open to the public and meet on the second Monday of each month from 3:30 to 5:00, in the Southwest Media Center.  (If location changes, a sign will be posted.)

Our decision making process involves the Leadership Council, Committees, Subcommittees and Task Forces. Most school policy changes will be decided at the sub/committee level and presented to Leadership Council for approval. The Council is the governing body, but many new initiatives will develop through sub/committee work.


We are actively recruiting a broader base of leadership for standing and special committees.

Parents, please contact Kirsten Mair, PTSO Chair, or

Students, talk to your assigned counselor or current Student LC Representative(s).

Teachers/Staff, talk to your lead or one of your LC officers.



Leadership Council Members, 2017-18
Brian Meyer, chair <>,

Nonie Kouneski, staff, union rep <>,

Katherine Lipe, staff, equity <>,

Kristin Woebke, staff <>,

James Menke, staff <>,

Kathleen Jacobs, staff, nl <>,

Randall Baker, staff, nl <>,

Amy Kline, staff, equity <>


Isaac Van Wert, student, g12 <>,

Kawsar Mohammed, student, g10 <>,


Caroline Cochran, parent<>

Kirsten Mair, parent <>

Gwen Spurgat, parent alternate <>

Julie Flaskamp, parent alternate <>,



Leadership Council Description and Working To Do List