MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS
Southwest Leadership Council

Southwest is now a Community Partnership School (CPS), which means our governance is not limited to the district and principal, but also involves a Leadership Council comprised of staff, students, and parents. Site-based management promotes student achievement through the collaborative process of shared decision-making.
 

Our Desired Outcome is the creation of an effective decision-making team to guide the policies of the school, and to advance the goals developed in the School Improvement Plan (SIP).
The Leadership Council provides a forum for all constituencies to become involved in the decision-making process. We are recruiting parents/family, staff, and students who will be strong, active, and supportive Leadership partners.

 

Leadership Council meetings are open to the public and meet on the second Monday of each month from 3:30 to 5:30, in the Southwest Media Center.  (If location changes, a sign will be posted.)

Our decision making process involves the Leadership Council, Committees, Subcommittees and Task Forces. Most school policy changes will be decided at the sub/committee level and presented to Leadership Council for approval. The Council is the governing body, but many new initiatives will develop through sub/committee work.

 

We are actively recruiting a broader base of leadership for standing and special committees.

Parents, please contact Kirsten Mair, PTSO Chair, or SWPTSO@gmail.com

Students, talk to your assigned counselor or current Student LC Representative(s).

Teachers/Staff, talk to your lead or one of your LC officers.

 

 

Leadership Council Members, 2017-18
Brian Meyer, chair <Brian.Meyer@mpls.k12.mn.us>,

Nonie Kouneski, staff, union rep <Nonie.Kouneski@mpls.k12.mn.us>,

Katherine Lipe, staff, equity <Katherine.Lipe@mpls.k12.mn.us>,

Kristin Woebke, staff <Kristin.Woebke@mpls.k12.mn.us>,

James Menke, staff <James.Menke@mpls.k12.mn.us>,

Kathleen Jacobs, staff, nl <Kathleen.Jacobs@mpls.k12.mn.us>,

Randall Baker, staff, nl <Randy.Baker@mpls.k12.mn.us>,

Amy Kline, staff, equity <Amy.Kline@mpls.k12.mn.us>

 

Isaac Van Wert, student, g12 <ivan1801@mpsedu.org>,

Kawsar Mohammed, student, g10 <kmoh2001@mpsedu.org>,

 

Caroline Cochran, parent<carolinec.cochran@gmail.com>

Kirsten Mair, parent <mairki@gmail.com>

Gwen Spurgat, parent alternate <gwen.spurgat@objectpartners.com>

Julie Flaskamp, parent alternate <flash2fire@gmail.com>,

 

 

Leadership Council Description and Working To Do List