MPSHome Alumni Calendar Contact MyMPS
612MTB Team
The 2016 Southwest Highschool MTB team

612MTB Team/Southwest HS Moutain Bike Team 2017


The 612MTB Community

The Southwest High School Mountain Bike Team (MTB) is part of the 612MTB. 612MTB is a group of teams that practice together, pits together at races (shares spaces and rescources) and shares coaches . We are united as one group despite having different color jerseys on race days. The 612MTB includes racers from Washburn, Southwest, South, and a MPLS Southside Composite, which is made up of students from Roosevelt, private and home schools in south Minneapolis. Eligible riders include 7th-12th graders and the season runs from July - October. We operate under the Minnesota Chapter of the National Interscholastic Cycling Association (NICA


Upcoming 2017 Dates

April 29: Team Open House (See details below)

June 15: Registration Deadline

June 23-25: Cuyuna Team Training Camp

July 1: Practice starts

July 16-20: Optional Rider Development Camp

August 6-13: Advanced Training Camp-Stokesville Lodge, VA (by invitation only - for advanced riders)


2017 League Race Schedule (We will race 5 of the following 6 races. Our bye race (where we will not be riding) is not yet determined.
Race #1(bye week) – Aug 27  Spam Trail, Austin, MN
Race #2 – Sept. 10  Jail Trail, St Cloud, MN
Race #3 – Sept. 24  Gamehaven, Rochester, MN
Race #4 – Oct. 1  White Tail Ridge, Riverfalls, WI
Race #5 – Oct. 15  Spirit Mountain, Duluth, MN
Race # 6 – Oct 28-29  State Championship-Mt Kato, Mankato, MN
Season Ending Celebration – Sunday, Nov. 5


Costs to join the team:

$100 Team Fee

$50 Team jersey

$50 NICA League registration Fee

$40 entrace fee, per race

(Optional additional fees):

$ Additional team gear such as t-shirts

$90 Cuyuna Training Camp

$$$ Advanced Training CO camp


Required Equipment


  • A bike shop quality mountain bike that is well-maintained and fits properly

  • Helmet, preferably less than 3 years old

  • Repair kit (multi-tool, tire levers, tube, chain links, chain tool, pump or CO2’s)

  • Hydration system such as water bottles or backpack style

  • Front and rear lights for practices when needed

  • Team jersey (available for purchase)

  • Cycling shorts either lycra or baggy

  • Closed-toe shoes

  • Any necessary medical equipment such as inhalers or epi-pens.

  • We also recommend glasses, gloves and clipless pedals (for riders who are becoming comfortable on a mt. bike) but they are not required.


In addition, no hybrids, single speeds, drop bars, slick tires, or bar end extensions are allowed at practices. Locks are not needed at practice and should be left at home.

Practice Schedule

Racing Mountain bikes comes with risk. We manage those risks by helping the kids develop ride skills and be mentally and physically prepared. It’s important to come to as many of the practices as possible. Being able to work with the riders all summer is how we know whether they are prepared and capable of racing safely. We will not allow riders to race if we are unsure if they can complete a race safely.


The season starts July 1. The following is the regular weekly schedule for the majority of the season. But as we get into the fall the start times will get set to 4:30 pm due to fading light.


  • Monday 6:00-8:00 pm: Meet at Washburn High School for Drills and Skills. Strength training will be included on this night.

  • Wednesday 6:00-8:00 pm: Meet on the grassy area just North of the Greenway at 28th street and Dean Parkway. We’ll ride to Theodore Wirth Park to ride the off-road trails and return.

  • Saturday 9:00 am: This ride will be 2-3 hours in length. We will meet at the metro-area mtb trails such as Lebanon hills in Eagan, Murphy Hanrehan Park in Savage and Elm Creek In Osseo.


April 29  Team Open House (Registration and Gear Check)

Tangletown Bike Shop

322 W 48th St, Minneapolis, MN, 55419


Time: 10 am - 1pm


This is a great opportunity to get information, register for the team, sign waivers, meet the other parents and coaches and get your bike looked at by a mechanic. We can also check bike fit.

It’s a requirement for the team to have a bike that is mechanically sound. It’s not about having a fancy or expensive bike but it should be a bike shop quality shop. Mt  biking is very hard on equipment and having mechanically sound and maintaining your equipment is an absolute safety necessity. You will be sent home from practice if your bike is not mechanically sound. This pre-season gear check has been very helpful in getting everyone’s bike ready for the season.


The 612MTB team is comprised of riders from Southwest, Washburn, South, and a MPLS Southside Composite (Roosevelt, private and home schools in south Minneapolis).